Dinamo Riga missed the chance to return to a playoff spot after Brandon Kozun’s last-minute goal gave Lokomotiv a come-from-behind win.

The home team, however, will feel that justice was done. The first period saw Lokomotiv well on top but unable to beat Timur Bilyalov. The second saw the puck in the Dinamo net, only for the officials to rule that it was kicked over the line by Yegor Korshkov.

The same dominance continued until the 46th minute when Dinamo grabbed a surprise lead. Lauris Darzins sent Linus Videll into the Loko zone and the Swede finished off the chance to rock the home crowd. The lead lasted barely two minutes, though, before Denis Alexeyev tied it up. Once again, there was a video review – this time checking for goalie interference – but to Lokomotiv’s relief the officials found no infringement. That set the scene for a big finish. The Railwaymen ended the game on the power play and Kozun was first to react to the rebound from the Jakub Nakladal shot to poach the winner with 19 seconds to play.

Lokomotiv Yaroslavl Dinamo Riga
2 minSannikov Stepan
2 minDarzins Lauris
2 minAlisauskas Nerijus
2 minBilyalov Timur
19:17Delaying the game
Lokomotiv Yaroslavl Dinamo Riga
2 minChervonenko Vladislav
2 minBilyalov Timur
19:17Delaying the game
2 minDzerins Andris
2 minBatnja Oskars
Lokomotiv Yaroslavl Dinamo Riga
1:1Alexeyev Denis V.
47:24Kozun Brandon, Rafikov Rushan
2:1Kozun Brandon
59:41Nakladal Jakub, Apalkov Daniil
0:1Videll Linus
45:19Darzins Lauris
2 minDarzins Lauris
58:44Throwing the puck outside the playing area
10 minMcMillan Brandon
59:41Misconduct penalty
  • 04:58 2 min Sannikov Stepan (Tripping)
  • 07:20 2 min Darzins Lauris (Hooking)
  • 12:29 2 min Alisauskas Nerijus (Tripping)
  • 19:17 2 min Bilyalov Timur (Delaying the game)
  • 21:41 2 min Chervonenko Vladislav (Slashing)
  • 33:38 2 min Dzerins Andris ()
  • 37:28 2 min Batnja Oskars (Tripping)
  • 45:19 0:1 Videll Linus (Darzins Lauris)
  • 47:24 1:1 Alexeyev Denis V. (Kozun Brandon, Rafikov Rushan)
  • 58:44 2 min Darzins Lauris (Throwing the puck outside the playing area)
  • 59:41 2:1 Kozun Brandon (Nakladal Jakub, Apalkov Daniil)
  • 59:41 10 min McMillan Brandon (Misconduct penalty)